关于XLP

本册子讲解有关X连锁淋巴组织异常增生综合症,以及它一般的治疗方法。

X连锁淋巴组织异常增生综合症亦同时被称为Duncan 综合症。它是一种造成免疫系统对某些病毒感染反应异常的遗传缺陷。它可能造成不够活跃的免疫系统(免疫缺损)或过于活跃的免疫系统,而这两种情况是同样的严重。

XLP有多普遍?

XLP是极为罕见的,而今全世界只发现了大约100个有XLP的家庭。尽管如此,许多这个疾病的个案可能仍未被发现。

这个病症的特点是什么?

XLP可以有许多不同的症状,而我们还未知道这个疾病的全貌。我们认为XLP的免疫系统没有能力应付某些病毒感染,尤其是EB病毒 (EBV)。免疫系统丧失了它一贯的紧密监管,并开始失灵。大约有三分之一的病患会有严重的腺热病程。另三分之一则染上一种血球里的癌症(恶性淋巴瘤),而剩余的三分之一则拥有很低的免疫球蛋白类,血液里协助抵抗感染的一种蛋白类。更罕见的是,病患可能会有严重的贫血症,或者微血管的感染(血管炎)。通常病患在患病期间会经历几种不同的症状。

这些不同特点的病症是什么呢?

  • 严重的腺热
  • 恶性淋巴瘤 病患可能觉得疲倦、 无精打采、腺体会肿胀
  • 低丙种球蛋白血症 (低免疫球蛋白类) Ė 病患可能经常受到感染

这疾病的病因是什么?

这个病症的病因是在1999年才被发现,因此,有许多我们仍然未能理解的地方。它是因为其中一个X染色体的基因突变(异变)所引起的,这造成细胞未能获得正确的指示来正常运作。在大部份的家庭里,这个异变发生在SH2D1A基因里。这个基因负责制造称为SAP的蛋白质。由于在一些病患身上并未发现这个异变,我们正努力的研究,希望尽快找出在这些家庭里发生异变的基因。

这疾病是如何被遗传的?

X染色体是性别染色体的其中一个,女性有两个X染色体,而男性则分别有X染色体及Y染色体。每一个X染色体内含有一组基因。如果在一位男性的X染色体内出现异变,他将患有此疾病。但是,由于女性有两个X染色体,如果一个X染色体的基因有异常,另一个X染色体内的正常基因可作出补救。因此,虽然两性皆可能带有这个病因,但是只有男性会发病,女性则不受影响。这是一种与X连锁的疾病,而在同一个家族里您或许会发现其他受影响的男性。

是否这个家庭的每个儿童都会受影响?

不,如果母体带有此病因,每一个她所诞下的女婴都有50%的机会成为带病因者。而每个她所诞下的男婴则有50%的机会受此疾病影响。

XLP是如何被诊断的?

儿童及他的家人的发病模式将建议此诊断。在大多数儿童的个案我们可以单靠验血报告确定诊断。这是检查让细胞正常工作的SAP蛋白质是否完好,亦同时寻找基因里的异变情况。在一些家庭里,这个特定的基因可能并未有异变。因此,诊断可能仅依靠临床报告。

这疾病可以沿用哪些治疗呢?

最初期所提供的治疗将是针对您的孩子的症状,这可能会包括一些抗病毒药物,免疫球蛋白疗程或类固醇。持续的支援性治疗,例如免疫球蛋白及抗生素,将被提供给儿童来照顾他们短期到中期的健康状况。目前来说,骨髓移植是唯一决定性的治疗选择。这可能会是一个艰难的疗程,需要住院一段颇长的时间。

有这个疾病的人士前景如何?

在没有获得治疗的情况下,70%的XLP病人在10岁或之前死亡。

但是,在我们逐渐认识这个疾病的当儿,我们发现了一些患有较轻微同一疾病的成年人。

伦敦大欧蒙街儿童医院(Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children)授权翻印。

Back

What is X-linked lymphoproliferative syndrome?
X-linked lymphoproliferative syndrome (XLP), which is also known as Duncan's syndrome, is a genetic defect which causes the immune system to respond abnormally to some viral infections. This can result either in an underactive immune system (immunodeficiency) or an overactive immune system, which can cause as many problems.

How Common is XLP?
XLP is extremely rare, and only about 100 families with XLP are known to exist worldwide. It is likely, however, that there are many more individuals whose disease is as yet unrecognised.

What are the features of the condition?
XLP can have many different symptoms, and we do not yet know what the full spectrum of the disease is. About a third of patients have a very severe episode of glandular fever. Another third develop a cancer of their blood cells (lymphoma) and another third have low levels of immunoglobulin, the proteins in the blood that help fight infection. More rarely, individuals may have a severe form of anaemia or inflammation of small blood vessels (vasculitis). It is common for one individual to have several different symptoms over the course of their illness.

What are the symptoms?

  • Severe glandular fever
  • Lymphoma: Patients may be tired, anaemic and develop swollen glands
  • Hypogammaglobulinaemia: Patients may get frequent infections

What causes the condition?
The cause of the condition was only found in 1999, so there is much that we do not understand about it. It is caused by a mutation, or mistake, in one of the genes on the X chromosome. This means that the cell does not get the right instructions it needs to work properly. In most families, the mistake is in a gene called SH2D1A. This gene normally makes a protein called SAP. Mistakes in the gene cannot be found in a number of individuals with the disease, and we are looking hard to find out which gene is responsible in these families.

Pathogenesis
We think that the immune system in XLP is unable to cope with some viral infections, in particular EBV. The immune system loses its normal tight regulation, and starts to malfunction.

How is the condition inherited?
The X chromosome is one of the sex chromosomes: females have two X chromosomes and males have one X and one Y. Each X chromosome carries one copy of the gene. If a male has a faulty gene on their X chromosome, they will have the disease. However, because the female has two X chromosomes, the normal gene on one X can compensate for the faulty one on the other. Thus, only males get the disease, and females may carry the disease but be unaffected. This is an “X-linked disease” and within a family tree you may be able to pick out other affected males.

Are all the children in the family affected?
No! If a mother carries the disease, each time she has a female child, there is a 50% chance that they will be a carrier. Each time that she has a male child there is a 50% chance that they will be affected by the disease.

How is the diagnosis made?
The diagnosis will be suggested by the pattern of illness in the child and their family. In most children we can confirm the diagnosis using a blood test. This will check if the protein (SAP) that makes the cells work properly is present, and will also look for the “mistake” in the gene. In some families there may not be a mistake in this particular gene, and the diagnosis can be made on the clinical story alone.

What treatment can be given for the condition?
Initially treatment will be given for the symptoms that your child presents with, this may include anti-viral medicines, immunoglobulin therapy or steroids. Children may receive a variety of supportive treatments, such as immunoglobulin and antibiotics to keep them well in the short term. Bone marrow transplantation is the definitive treatment of choice at the present time. This can be a difficult procedure, requiring a prolonged hospital stay.

What is the outlook for people with the condition?
70% of individuals with XLP die by the age of 10 years without any treatment. However, as we are learning more about the disease we are identifying adults with milder forms of the condition.

Source: Great Ormond Street Hospital NHS Trust, London.

Also please see http://www.stjude.org/disease-summaries/0,2557,449_2164_6527,00.html